Invited Speakers

Teresa Carlomagno is group leader of Biomolecular NMR Spectroscopy, Structural and Computational Biology Department at the EMBL, Heidelberg. Teresa Carlomagno’ research group investigates the structural basis of intermolecular interactions and RNA folding by nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy in solution with a special focus on RNA processing complexes and mechanisms of anticancer drugs activity. Additionally, her group develops novel NMR techniques for structural investigation of biomolecules.


Volker Dötsch is Professor for Biophysical Chemistry at the Goethe University Frankfurt and BMLS Vice Director. The scientific focus of his group is the NMR-based structure determination of proteins. They have developed a cell-free expression system that is optimized for the production of large amounts of membrane proteins. Based on this system they have developed procedures for efficient selective labeling with NMR active isotopes that can be used in NMR experiments to determine the solution structure of membrane proteins.


Raimund Dutzler is Professor of Biochemistry at the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Zürich. His research group is interested in the mechanisms of transmembrane ion transport. The group studies the structure and function of selected families of ion channels and transporters by a multidisciplinary approach combining biochemistry X-ray crystallography and electrophysiology.

Daniel Huster is head of the Institute of Medical Physics and Biophysics at the University of Leipzig. His group is interested in lipid bilayers, integral and periphal membrane proteins as well as of amyloids, tissues and cytokines. With a broad variety of NMR and other spectroscopic methods they study the structure and dynamics of these molecules and their interaction with others at different states to elucidate/unravel what is responsible for their binding, localization, orientation and dynamic behaviour.


Irmgard Sinning is Professor for Biochemistry and Structural Biology at the Heidelberg University Biochemistry Center (BZH). Prof. Sinning’s group aims on a detailed understaning of molecular machines involved in protein targeting, insertion and membrane translocation. The combination of cell biology and biophysics allows to unravel the molecular mechanisms of these machines and their regulation in the context of a living cell.


Alfred Wittinghofer was director of the Department of Structural Biology from 1993 through 2009 the Max-Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology (MPI) in Dortmund. During this time, he taught Biochemistry at the University of Bochum. He continues as an Emeritus Group Leader at the MPI where research in his lab focuses on structural, functional, and mechanistic investigation of GTP-binding proteins and their regulators, particular on proteins involved in ciliary transport.



Responsible for the content: E-MailBioStruct Office